07/02/2022 - Manifesto for the Development of the Next-Generation Cloud Infrastructure & Services Capabilities in 2022

Manifesto for the Development of the Next-Generation Cloud Infrastructure & Services Capabilities in 2022

The Kingdom of Belgium, the Czech Republic, the French Republic, the Federal Republic of Germany, the Italian Republic, the Republic of Latvia, the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Hungary, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, the Republic of Poland, the Republic of Slovenia and the Kingdom of Spain have agreed to join forces in an Important Project of Common European Interest (IPCEI) dedicated to shaping the next generation of Cloud Infrastructure & Services (CIS).
This ambitious integrated project will first industrially deploy a fundamentally new and innovative data processing production process based on breakthrough technological advancements and the development of advanced industrial products and services while contributing to existing European initiatives and policies, in particular to the European Green Deal, the European Industrial Strategy, the European Data Strategy and the Digital Compass. It will significantly contribute to the advancement of the data processing dimension of the High Impact Project described in the European Data Strategy via the design and roll-out of the first ever highly energy efficient, secure and distributed multi provider cloud-edge continuum. It will provide the next generation of highly innovative, secure and green data processing industrial capabilities the EU and its end-users need for a sustainable technological leadership and will be based on interoperable, advanced and open cloud-edge infrastructure and services. In light of the High Impact Project, the IPCEI will thus directly contribute to “addressing the specific needs of industries in the EU, including hybrid cloud deployment models that allow data processing at the edge with no latency (cloud-to-edge) by fostering the gradual rebalancing between centralised data infrastructure in the cloud and highly distributed and smart data processing at the edge”.
The IPCEI-CIS will bring technological innovation beyond the global state of the art in key products, tools, services and processes, it will benefit end-users and many sectors of the European Economy and Society, such as manufacturing, energy, mobility, smart cities or healthcare. All twelve participating countries also share the opinion that the developed IPCEI-CIS cloud-to-edge continuum will ultimately bring benefits for all Member States, their companies and users.
The IPCEI-CIS will have wide benefits for businesses and public entities in terms of choice, access, seamless use and highly energy-efficient processing of their data in real-time with guaranteed ultra-low latency, and advanced secure features from anywhere across the EU territory. The IPCEI-CIS will equip the EU with advanced and federated cloud and edge capabilities based on interconnection services and interoperable platforms. This will ultimately result in fostering the resilience and technological leadership of European industries and public entities while paving the way for cutting-edge digital innovation, products and services meeting end-users’ demands while preserving our planet.
The IPCEI-CIS will comprise both the research, development and innovation (R&D&I) and the first industrial deployment (FID) of the next generation of cloud and edge infrastructure and services, based on cutting-edge technologies that are open and distributed, sustainable and highly scalable architectures.

In a communication published on December 17th, 2020, France, Germany, Italy and Spain invited all EU Member States and interested European stakeholders to join the IPCEI-CIS process. This call was answered by Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary, Latvia, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Poland, and Slovenia. All twelve countries have now been working intensively for more than a year with the support of the European Commission towards a meaningful European project selection and have now successfully completed the EU matchmaking phase. The Member States are now fully determined to reach the pre-notification gate to the European Commission expected by March 2022. The indicative schedule is the following:
  • Pre-notification: March 2022
  • Expected Notification: September 2022
  • Expected Start of IPCEI projects: Q4 2022

Ms. M.A.M Adriaansens
Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Policy of the Netherlands

Mr. Janusz Cieszyński
Secretary of State at Chancellery of Prime Minister and Government Plenipotentiary for Cybersecurity of Poland

Mr. Pierre-Yves Dermagne
Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of the Economy and Employment of Belgium

Mr. Franz Fayot
Minister of the Economy of Luxembourg

Mr. Giancarlo Giorgetti
Minister of Economic Development of Italy

Mr. Tibor Gulyás
Deputy State Secretary for Innovation of Hungary

Dr. Robert Habeck
Federal Minister for Economic Affairs and Climate Action of Germany

Mr. Bruno Le Maire
Minister of the Economy, Finance and the Recovery
& Mr. Cedric O
Minister of State for the Digital Transition and Electronic Communication of France

Mr. Zdravko Pocivalsek
Minister for Economic Development and Technology of Slovenia

Mr. Kaspars Rožkalns
Director General, Investment and Development Agency of Latvia

Mr. Roberto Sanchez Sanchez
Secretary of State for Telecommunications and Digital Infrastructures of Spain

Mr. Jozef Síkela
Minister of Industry and Trade of the Czech Republic